The Joy of Rescuing

Back in 2014, I was in Year 11 and school sucked, there were too many assessments, I was having issues with some people and I could not see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I decided I wanted a pet. We had previously owned a dog but he passed away and then we had 2 guinea pigs but they both passed away. I knew Mum and Dad wouldn’t let me get a dog or a cat, so I started researching smaller animals and decided on a mouse. I would get two mice and keep them in my room.

I was begging Mum and Dad for months to let me get them and one morning, out of the blue they said “Madi, we have been thinking a lot about getting a pet and we are willing to let you get a dog”, I couldn’t quite believe my ears, this was incredible! Of course I wanted a dog more than mice!

We were instantly looking at the local rescue centres in our area and some even much further away and went to go visit a local shelter but we couldn’t find the right one for our family. We had a small list of dogs we would like to meet at Monika’s Doggie Rescue and we added one more onto the list right at the end, just because I felt like I just needed to meet her.

We went up to the rescue and met the first dog on the list, she was sweet but she didn’t quite fit with us but the second one we met (the one on the end of the list), oh was she lovely, so gentle and friendly and when we put her in the back of the car she did not want to get out, she looked so at home. This was it, the whole family fell instantly in love with her.

Her name was Vixen then, but we changed it to Gypsy as we felt it suited her more, our little traveler with an unknown past. We brought her home and she fitted in perfectly.

It has now been over 2 years since we brought her home and none of us could imagine life without her. She has well and truly become a part of this family, as I write this she is currently fast asleep in her bed in our house we are staying on holidays snoring away after playing on the beach this morning and sitting with us as we had breakfast at a local cafe.

If you are thinking about getting a dog, I would strongly encourage you to adopt from a rescue centre, there are so many around full of beautiful dogs just waiting for you.

#adoptnotshop

Love MadisonKate xox0

 

One thought on “The Joy of Rescuing

Leave a Reply

